Tranquility

IMG_3990

The waves. The silhouette of a stranger. The setting sun. Such a moment of peace and tranquility.

My mom visited me in Houston in October for the first time. Well, the first time that I was a “real person,” all settled in to my new home. Prior to this the only time either of my parents had been to Texas was to help me move back and forth for my work rotations. My mom and I went to a beach on the tip of Galveston Island, called East Beach. Not many people were there when we arrived. The area was filled with sea gulls, other small sea birds, and pelicans. The water had carved beautiful landscapes on the sand, and as the sun set, dazzling glare beat down on the gentle sandy curves.

I snapped many pictures of this particular horizon- a few more of which will likely come soon- but I particularly like this one because of the ambling stranger. It was a great getaway to spend one-on-one time with my mom, to just hang out, enjoy the sound of the waves and the brackish breeze…

There wasn’t even need for conversation. We simply enjoyed the tranquility.

Leave a Reply

