South Bull Creek

IMG_1263_wm.JPG

I checked out South Bull Creek near Austin and found this spot. Sat here for a while, playing around with long exposures. It was a beautiful day. My favorite part- the part I most wish I’d been set up to photograph at the moment- was when a man came with his dog and was playing fetch with him, but the dog would leap off the rocks into the water, retrieve the stick, and paddle back to his owner.

On a related note, I have no idea who this girl is. She came and sat for a little bit while I was shooting. But I liked the human element and sense of scale, so hopefully if she ever sees this, she’ll be okay with her contribution to a nice picture.

The ring around the photo was an accident. I had my lens hood on and didn’t realize that it was positioned in such a way that it would block some of the frame. But as I was reviewing the pictures from that day, this was the only shot that seemed different than the rest because of that unintentional arrangement!

I also love this picture for another reason. I had been in Austin for a wedding and stopped by this trail before I went home. It was a beautiful end to a wonderful weekend where I had reunited with many of my good friends from college. This picture to me not only epitomizes a great hike, but a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

